Start free trial

The best credentialing software depends on a question most vendors will not answer

Five products, what each one actually costs, and who each is built for. Four of the five do not publish a price. That absence is the most useful thing on this page, and it is not an accident.

Comparison10 min read
A hand writing on sticky notes beside an open laptop
The credentialing software category, priced. Four of five vendors route every pricing question through a sales call.

Why four of five will not tell you the price

Every credentialing vendor in the G2 category ranking routes pricing through a demo. symplr, Modio Health, MedTrainer and CredentialStream all show contact-vendor-for-pricing on Capterra, with no trial and no free version listed. This is not four companies independently arriving at the same policy. It is what happens when the price depends on how many providers, how many modules and which state, and when the seller would rather establish that before naming a number.

The practical effect is that a three-provider practice cannot find out whether a product is affordable without booking a call with someone whose job is to prevent that call from ending in a no. For an organisation with a procurement function this is normal. For a front-office lead who also does credentialing between patient check-ins, it is the reason this category stays a spreadsheet.

Criterionsymplr ProviderMedTrainerModio HealthCredentialStreamSokndallthis site
Published list priceyes or no, on own siteNoNoNoNoYes — $79 / $299 / $699
Charging unitwhat the vendor countsNot specifiedUsers and modulesNot specifiedNot specifiedProviders tracked
How you buy itfirst step for a buyerDemo requiredDemo or sales callDemo requiredDemo requiredSelf-serve signup
Reviewer size mixshare of reviewers, by size42% mid, 31% small (G2)77% small (Capterra)29 reviews, small to mid42% enterpriseNo review history
Vendor-solicited reviewsincentive badge presentYesYesYes on G2YesNone to declare
Review counts and size mixes come from Capterra and G2 profiles read on 7 September 2026. The size figures are not equivalent across platforms: Capterra reports industry and business size separately, G2 reports company size bands, and neither is a customer list. Sokndall has no third-party review history, which is stated rather than left blank.

The unit is where these comparisons break

MedTrainer is the only one of the four that documents its own logic: its product FAQ states that pricing is based on utilisation and scales with the number of users and modules. The other three specify nothing. Per-provider is the unit the market assumes informally, and no vendor investigated publishes it explicitly on its own site. So when a comparison puts two per-unit figures beside each other, at least one of them is measuring something it did not measure.

$3,600 to $9,000 a year for 15 users (MedTrainer blog, 2026)

What software costs, and what the service costs

The first two figures buy the work: an outside team submits and maintains, priced per provider. The third buys software, priced in staff seats. The fourth is this product, priced in providers tracked. Nothing about those four numbers is comparable without the unit attached, which is why every one of them carries it here. Software and service are not competing purchases at different prices; they are different purchases.

symplr Provider: built for the medical staff office

No published price. The product page offers a demo request and an ROI calculator, and Capterra records contact-vendor-for-pricing with no trial and no free version. The charging unit is not stated anywhere symplr publishes. Its own page notes that organisations credentialing 300 or more providers benefit most, which is a segment statement rather than a price.

Multi-facility hospitals and health systems with a medical staff office and a credentialing committee. Every published customer story is one: Central Maine Healthcare, Inspira Health Network, Cone Health, the University of Tennessee Medical Center. This is the historically dominant brand in that segment and there is no argument here that a health system should buy something else.

Not verified List price, charging unit and billing period. Also: symplr Payer's $12,500-per-user figure is a different product on a different unit and is not used as a proxy here.

MedTrainer: the one that documents its own pricing logic

No published price, but MedTrainer states in its own product FAQ that pricing is based on utilisation and scales with the number of users and modules. That is more than any other vendor here discloses. Its blog separately puts the category at $3,600 to $9,000 a year for fifteen users. Capterra records contact-vendor-for-pricing, no trial, no free version.

Small and mid-sized organisations that want credentialing alongside compliance and learning modules: FQHCs, dental groups, urgent care, behavioural health. Seventy-seven per cent of its Capterra reviewers are small businesses. If you need the LMS and the compliance side as well, the bundle is a genuine reason to prefer it over a tracking tool.

Not verified The list price itself, and how the module count maps to a number. The blog figure is category guidance, not a quote for MedTrainer's own product.

Modio Health: the closest to a small-practice product

No published price and no self-serve signupthe site offers a demo booking and nothing else. The charging unit is not documented; the marketing language refers to your team or organisation without specifying seats or providers. No third-party figure is circulating for it either, which is unusual for a product with 29 Capterra reviews.

Independent medical practices and organisations in the tens rather than the hundreds of providers, including mental health groups. Its own published case study is a practice with more than forty physicians. Of the products here, this is the one whose customer base most resembles the reader of this page, and if you are willing to sit through the demo it is a reasonable shortlist entry.

Not verified Price, unit, billing period. Also whether Capterra's 29 reviews carry the same vendor-incentive pattern confirmed on G2 — that needs a manual pass review by review.

CredentialStream: the most enterprise of the group

No published price; Capterra records contact-vendor-for-pricing and the model is enterprise or custom. One Capterra reviewer mentions a five-thousand-dollar charge to train new medical staff professionals on the system, which is a training fee rather than a licence fee, said by an anonymous user and not independently verified. It is recorded here as exactly that.

Large hospital organisations and CVOs. Forty-two per cent of its Capterra reviewers are enterprise, the highest proportion of any product here. If you have a delegated credentialing agreement and an accreditation cycle to satisfy, this segment is what the product was designed around.

Not verified Everything except the segment. The vendor's own claim to being top-rated by G2 comes from its own blog and is repeated here as a claim, not as a finding.

Sokndall: published price, narrower product

$79, $299 or $699 a month for 3, 15 or 50 providers, charged per provider with users included. Self-serve signup, 14-day trial, cancel from Settings. Every figure on the pricing page is on the page rather than behind a form. That is the entire differentiator and it is worth naming plainly, because it is a commercial decision rather than a technical achievement.

What it does not have: any of the four products above will do things this one will not. There is no verification against issuing boards, no portal integration, no compliance or learning module, no delegated credentialing support, and no third-party review history at all. It is also in development. A health system should buy symplr. A group that wants compliance bundled should look at MedTrainer.

Take the free tracking template before you book any demo

One email with the spreadsheet. A few things about credentialing after that, and one click unsubscribes at any time.

What Sokndall costs, and what it is being compared to

Three plans, published: $79, $299 and $699 a month for up to 3, 15 and 50 providers. Per provider that is $26.33, $19.93 and $13.98. Every plan has every feature, and the 14-day trial cancels from Settings before day 15.

SoloPracticeBilling Co
Price$79/mo$299/mo$699/mo
Providers31550 across clients
Per provider$26.33$19.93$13.98

14-day trial, card up front, cancel yourself before day 15. Nothing on the pricing page changes after you sign up.

Start the 14-day trialSee the full price list

Frequently asked questions